

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Formerly University of Missouri-Rolla

General Faculty Meeting Minutes

September 4, 2012

125 Bulter-Carlton Hall, 4:00 P.M.

- I. Call-to-Order, Chancellor Cheryl B. Schrader called the meeting of the General Faculty to order at 4:00 P.M.
- II. Announcements Chancellor Schrader added agenda item C under new business.
- III. Memorial Resolution for Raymond Waggoner Postponed until next meeting.
- IV. Chancellor Schrader called for approval of the minutes of the May 1, 2012 meeting. The minutes were approved as circulated.
- V. Unfinished Business None
- VI. Reports of Standing and Special Committees None
- VII. Chancellor Schrader introduced the Officers of the General Faculty

Chancellor Schrader – President S.N. Balakrishnan – Vice President Melanie Mormile - Parliamentarian Deanne Jackson – Secretary

VIII. Introduction of New Faculty

Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Whitefield called on department chairs to introduce new faculty:

- Dr. Lana Zak Agha, Assistant Professor of Mining and Nuclear Engineering
- Dr. Kirk Christensen, Assistant Teaching Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
- Dr. Susan Curtis, Weiner Professor in History and Political Science
- Dr. Kathryn Dolan, Assistant Professor of English and Technical Communication
- Dr. Mohamed ElGawady, Associate Professor of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
- Dr. Jie Gao, Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
- Dr. Kristen Donnell Hilgedick, Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Dr. Marouane Kessentini, Assistant Professor of Computer Science
- Dr. Edward Kinzel, Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
- Dr. Brandi Klein, Assistant Professor of Psychological Science
- Dr. Dincer Konur, Assistant Professor of Engineering Management and Systems Engineering
- Dr. Xinhua Liang, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
- Dr. Michael Moats, Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
- Dr. Ricardo Morales, Assistant Teaching Professor of Computer Science
- Dr. Fui Hoon Nah, Professor of Business and Information Technology
- Dr. Joontaek Park, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
- Dr. Jennifer Pattershall, Assistant Professor of Psychological Science
- Dr. Michelle Phillips, Assistant Teaching Professor of Economics
- Dr. Keng Siau, Professor and Department Chair of Business and Information Technology
- Dr. Brian Smith, Assistant Professor of Engineering Management and Systems Engineering
- Dr. Mingzhen Weim, Assistant Professor of Geological Science and Engineering
- Dr. Nathan Weidner, Assistant Professor of Psychological Science

Office of the Registrar • 103 Parker Hall • 300 West 13th Street • Rolla, MO 65409-0930 Phone: 573-341-4181 • Fax: 573-341-4362 • Email: registrar@mst.edu • Web: http://registrar.mst.edu

An equal opportunity institution

Dr. Mohsen Zaeem, Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Andrew Tohline, Lecturer, Arts, Languages, and Philosophy Steven Hilgedick, Post-Doctoral Res in Geological Science and Engineering Ted Read, Lt. Colonel in Military Science Army

IX. New Business

A. Chancellor's Report

Chancellor Schrader gave a report from the June Board of Curators. The report touched on the UM System cost savings, revenue generation and salary savings. The UM strategic investment and specific S&T budget reductions were also discussed.

Chancellor Schrader discussed the open searches for Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies positions and explained why the process has now been redirected as a national recruiting search.

Chancellor Schrader presented the 2012 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities to Xiaodong Yang.

- B. Faculty Senate Report S.N. Balakrishnan had nothing further to present.
- C. Lance Haynes called for a vote to add Vice Provost and Dean of Enrollment Management Stoll as a non-voting member of General Faculty. Motion was approved by faculty present.
- X. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 4:29 pm.

XI.	Executive Session – Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Whitefield presented the candidates for honorary degrees. I	Ballots
	were distributed with the results to be forwarded by the Chancellor's Office to the President.	
	Deanne Jackson, Secretary	
	Boarno dachoon, doctorary	